The purpose of the Madaleen Ellis Memorial Scholarship, established in 2011, is to promote interest in local history, support the mission of the Newtown Square Historical Society (NSHS) and support the education of our township residents.  The scholarship also aims to honor the memory of a key contributor to the Society, and encourage membership and awareness of the work of the Society in the community.

About Madaleen Ellis

Madaleen Ellis (1927- 2007) lived in Newtown Square for more than 40 years. She was a founder, long-time volunteer director, and chairperson of the board of the Newtown Public Library.  She was also an active member of the NSHS, Newtown Square Presbyterian Church, the Fire Auxiliary, the Echo Valley Community Association, Villagers, and the Women’s Club of Newtown Square. She served as President of the NSHS in the 1990’s. The scholarship fund was created through a bequest in Madaleen’s will to the Historical Society.  She remembered us and now we remember her by using her generous gift to give an annual schoalrship in her name.

Scholarship Amount


Scholarship Requirements

  • High School Senior, Undergraduate or Graduate Student who is a resident of Newtown Township
  • Non-residents who have significantly contributed to the mission of the Society will be eligible to apply
  • Scholarship funds must go towards an accredited institution of higher education.

Selection Criteria and Process

Selection criteria includes a combination of the following:

  • Involvement in and contribution to the mission of the Newtown Square Historical Society.
  • Academic Performance
  • Extracurricular Activities, Community Service/ and Non-profit work
  • Quality of submitted answers to application questions (listed below)
  • Recommendation from non-family member (optional) – must be received by last day of April.
  • Can be emailed to scholarship@historicnewtownsquare.org

Applications will be due the last day of April.   A selection committee will evaluate the candidates and select a winner to be presented to the Board of Directors of the NSHS for approval at the May Board meeting.  A ceremonial presentation of the check will be made at Historic Newtown Day in June.


Applications will only be accepted online. The application includes your basic contact information, schools, and the following essay questions:

  • For which NSHS events have you volunteered in the past?
  • For how many years have you been a NSHS volunteer?
  • Explain how you have helped to:
    •      Educate residents in Newtown Township
    •      Support local history (include service for other township, county & state historical societies and sites)
    •      Encourage membership in NSHS

Hint: You may want to write the answers to the essay questions separately and cut and paste them into the application when you are ready to submit the application.  

This year’s Winner:  Jesse Myers!

Our 2017 recipient of the Madaleen Ellis Scholarship awarded yearly by the Newtown Square Historical Society is home school participant, JESSE MYERS.  Jesse has been involved in volunteering for the Historical Society, serving as a period re-enactor for the annual school tours for the last seven years.  Why does he do it?

“… the wonderful opportunity, and the amazing memories and fun that come along with engaging with the NSHS.  Volunteering with, and being a member of the NSHS is a unique environment to make friends, learn more about history, to serve other, and to make an impact on historical sites in the community.  And it’s made me realize that the best friends can come from the most unlikely circumstances, like reenacting the 1850’s!”

Jesse  will be heading to Hood College in the Fall, where he will be enrolled in business administration and major in Management.  We congratulate him and wish him the best of luck in his future endeavors!

Previous Winners

  • 2018 – ???
  • 2017 – Jesse Myers
  • 2016 – Emily Falcone
  • 2015 – Ruth Feldman
  • 2014 – Angela Stanert
  • 2013 – Bronwyn Livezey
  • 2012 – John Livezey
  • 2011 – GlenFern Livezey and Matthew Momjian